The Lagos State Governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has banned the operations of commercial motorcycles popularly called Okada, in six Local Governments.

The governor announced that the ban is “indefinite and total”.

He gave the order on Wednesday while speaking with all Divisional Police Officers and Area Commanders across the state at the Lagos House, Ikeja.

Sanwo-Olu asked the Lagos Police Command and other security agencies to enforce the ban.

The six local governments listed by the governor are;

  1. Ikeja

2. Surulere

3. Eti-Osa

4. Lagos Mainland

5. Lagos Island

6. Apapa.

He said, “The whole of Ikeja, Surulere, Eti-Osa, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island, and Apapa local governments have been placed on a total ban effective from the first of June. This is the first phase of banning that we are going to be embarking on, so that others should know… They should find something else to do.

The article was originally published on Politics Nigeria.

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *