Top 10 Most Influencial/Popular Politicians In Akwa Ibom State

Top 10 Most Influencial/Popular Politicians In Akwa Ibom State

 Akwa Ibom state has some of the best politicians in Nigeria . Just like other states in Nigeria, AKWA IBOM is also a political state.

Below is the list of the top 10 politicians in the AKWA IBOM STATE

  • Godswill Akpabio
  • Bassey Albert Akpan
  • Henry Okon Archibong
  • Otobong Bob
  • Bassey Dan-Abia
  • Valerie Ebe
  • Nelson Effiong
  • Nsima Ekere
  • Chris Ekpenyong
  • Nse Ekpenyong


Chief Godswill Obot Akpabio, is the son of Chief Obot Akpabio and Madam Lucy Obot Akpabio (née Inyangetor) of Ukana, Ikot Ntuen in Essien Udim Local Government Area. He was born on 9 December 1962. (born 9 December 1962), is a Nigerian lawyer and politician. He is the former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs as he resigned on 11 May 2022 on the direction of President Muhammadu Buhari to contest at presidential primaries on the platform of the All Progressives Congress and was preceded by Usani Uhuru Usani. He also served as Governor of Akwa Ibom State of Nigeria from May 29, 2007, to May 29, 2015.

 He got a National Award of Best Governor Infrastructure and Empowerment Award from the Central Bank of Nigeria in 2012 and 

Most Prolific Governor by the National Councillors’ Forum.

He is well recognised all over the country because of how competent he was while serving as the Governor of Akwa-Ibom state.


Bassey Albert Akpan, Commander of the Order of Niger (CON) (born 28 October 1972) is a Nigerian politician who has been serving as a member of the Senate of Nigeria since June 2015. Previously, he was Commissioner of Finance in Akwa Ibom State from 2007 to 2014. He was first elected to the Senate in March 2015, to represent Akwa Ibom North-East Senatorial District and he won re-election as a result of how satisfied his electorate was with his service in the northeast of Akwa-Ibom state for the second time in the February 2019 senatorial elections. He is a member of the People’s Democratic Party. Bassey Albert AKPAN was actually in the banking industry before joining politics. He once served in International Operations and Consumer Banking/Retail Banking Unit of the United Bank for Africa (UBA) and went further in 1999 to become Manager of, the Corporate Banking group at the Continental Trust Bank at the bank’s Victoria Island Lagos, Head Office. He later joined First Inland Bank Plc in 2003 as the Uyo Branch Manager, where he won the bank’s best-performing branch manager award in the South-South region. He also won the award of the best-performing branch manager nationwide in the bank’s mid-year review of the 2004 financial year. 


Honourable (Dr.) Henry Okon Archibong was born on January 1st, 1967 into the family of Otuekong Joseph Okon Archibong of Ikot Akpan Ama Itam in Mbak Obio Itam, Itu Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria. He is a medical doctor and politician who currently represents the Itu/Ibiono Ibom Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives.

Hon. Henry Archibong is 55 years old.

         OTOBONG BOB

    Barr. Otobong Bob is a young lawmaker from Nsit-Ubium in the Akwa Ibom State of Nigeria. He is the member representing Nsit-Ubium State Constituency in the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly and is the youngest Lawmaker in Nigeria.

    He was born on 18 August 1992 into the family of Senator Effiong Dickson Bob who is a Nigerian Senator, as well as the pro-chancellor and chairman of the governing council of the University of Benin.


      Dan-Abia was born and raised in Afaha Ekpenedi Village in Esit Eket Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State and received a law degree from the University of Lagos. He started his private law practice in 1995. He later became the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice Akwa Ibom State and MD/CEO of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) in 2013. He was relieved of his responsibility by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2015 which will not be mentioned here. In 2016, it was alleged that Bassey Dan-Abia held no intention to challenge Governor Udom Emmanuel in 2019, however, Dan-Abia entered the 2019 Akwa Ibom State gubernatorial race against Udom Emmanuel as a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).


        Valerie Maurice Ebe (née Bassey, born 26 March 1947), is a Nigerian lawyer and politician who was the first female Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State. Valerie Ebe

Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State

  In office 3 November 2012 – 29 May 2015 Preceded by Nsima Ekere

Succeeded by Moses Ekpo.

    NELSON ASUQUO EFFIONG           Nelson Asuquo Effiong born in 1953 in Oron, Akwa Ibom is a Nigerian politician and senator representing Akwa Ibom South in the Nigerian Senate. He was also an Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly member from 1992–2007. He belongs to the All Progressive Party (APC).

In 2015 he was elected into the office of the Senate under the People’s Democratic Party (Nigeria) and thereafter decamped to APC in 2017.

           NSIMA UDO EKERE

      Nsima Udo Ekere (born 29 May 1965) is a former Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC). He was the gubernatorial candidate of the All Progressives Congress Governorship Candidate for Akwa Ibom State for the 2019 election. Nsima Ekere is a native of Ikot Oboroenyin, Edemaya Clan Ikot Abasi Local Government Area of Akwa Ibom State.

He graduated from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka in 1986. He is married to Ese Nsima Ekere.

Nsima Ekere has chaired the Akwa Ibom State Emergency Management Agency and simultaneously as Chairman of Ibom Power Company, the power generating company owned by Akwa Ibom State.


Christopher Stephen Obong Ekpenyong  (born 29 September 1954, in Ikot Ukana of Obot Akara local government area, Akwa Ibom) is a Nigerian politician and former Deputy governor of Akwa Ibom State. He was elected to the Nigerian Senate in 2019 to represent Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial District (Incumbent). He belongs to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP)

    He studied Electrical Electronics Engineering at Bida Polytechnic where he got his Diploma before furthering at Polytechnic of Calabar for his Higher National Diploma.


   Nse Bassey Ekpenyong (born 1964 and died 23 April 2022) was a Nigerian politician born in oron and a member of the Nigerian National Assembly. Nse represented Oron, Mbo, Okobo, Urueoffong Oruku and Udung-Uko in the Federal House of Representatives.

He was arrested for forging his certificate which he presented to INEC before the commencement of the Election. 

Akwa-Ibom state is blessed with lots of politicians who are well-to-do in their field before joining politics.Top 10 Most Influencial/Popular Politicians In Akwa Ibom State

Leave a Reply