Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of science and technology, on Friday officially declared his interest in contesting for the position of the president of Nigeria in respect of the 2023 election.

POLITICS NIGERIA reports that at the event held at Nicon luxury Hotel, Abuja, Onu said he is prepared to work with citizens to bring about progress and prosperity to the country.

He joins the list of more than 10 persons that have declared their intention to run for president on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

Kayode Fayemi, governor of Ekiti; Adams Oshiomhole, a former governor of Edo; and Godswill Akpabio, minister of Niger Delta Affairs, declared their interest in contesting the presidency on Wednesday.

Other presidential hopefuls on the platform of the APC include Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation; Bola Tinubu, former Lagos governor; Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo; Dave Umahi, governor of Ebonyi; Rochas Okorocha, former governor of Imo; Yahaya Bello, governor of Kogi, and Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, minister of state for education.

Chris Ngige, minister of labour and employment; former Ogun State Governor, Ibikunle Amosun; and Pastor Tunde Bakare, have also announced his presidential ambition.

The article was originally published on Politics Nigeria.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *